About Us

Daesoon Jinrihoe (the Fellowship of Daesoon Truth) is one of the largest Korean new religions rooted in tradition. We believe in the Supreme God of the Ninth Heaven (Gucheon Sangje) who incarnated as Kang Jeungsan (1871–1909), a historical figure during the late 19th century in Korea. As the omniscient and omnipotent Supreme God who presides over all things and matters throughout the Three Realms: Heaven, Earth, and Humanity, He made a Great Itineration through the Three Realms and ultimately descended into the human world. He carried out the 'Reordering Works of Heaven and Earth (Cheonji-gongsa)' to rectify the catastrophic disorder of the Former World, save the Three Realms, and open up an Earthly Paradise just before passing into Heaven in 1909. These Great Works unfolded into what we call the ‘Daesoon Truth (Daesoon Jinri, 'Truth of the Great Itineration')’ of the Supreme God.

Through a revelation from the Supreme God (Sangje) Kang Jeungsan, the Lord of the Dao (Doju) Jo Jeongsan (1895–1958) had the Orthodox Lineage transmitted to him. After becoming enlightened to the Daesoon Truth of the Supreme God in 1917, the Lord of the Dao established a religious order in 1925 based on the teachings of the Supreme God. He formulated a doctrinal system of Tenets, Creeds, Aims, various methods of cultivation, ceremonial procedures, and other regulations that continue to guide the lives of Daesoon Jinrihoe Dao cohorts into the present day. The Orthodox Religious Authority was later transmitted by Lord of the Dao Jo Jeongsan to his successor, the Leader of Principle (Dojeon) Park Wudang (1917–1996), as the Lord of the Dao's deathbed edict. The Leader of Principle then reorganized the existing order and gave it its new name, 'Daesoon Jinrihoe' in 1969.

That is how the Religious Orthodoxy came to be transmitted from the Supreme God to the Lord of the Dao and then to the Leader of Principle as a final transmission. In summary, Daesoon Jinrihoe is a religious order that was established to achieve the following aims: the propagation of Sangje’s boundless grace and compassion to the world, the securing the salvation of spirits and humans, the promotion of national interests and bringing peace to the citizenry, and the establishment of an Earthly Paradise through the Re-creation of Inner-spirit and the Renovation of Human Beings based upon the eradication of Self-Deception. All of this shall be achieved gradually through spiritual cultivation in accordance with the Daesoon Truth that was revealed through the Great Itineration of Sangje as encapsulated by our tenets.

The main scripture in Daesoon Jinrihoe is the Canonical Scripture (Jeon-gyeong), which contains the acts, teachings, and achievements of the Supreme God, Kang Jeungsan and the Lord of the Dao, Jo Jeongsan. It has become a guiding principle for the cultivation methods practiced by Dao cohorts. The religious facilities for Daesoon Jinrihoe include 5 temple complexes, 120 fellowship buildings, and 200 fellowship halls all over the country. In practicing its religious doctrines, Dasoon Jinrihoe carries out the Basic Works (Propagation, Edification, and Cultivation) and the Three Major Societal Works (Social Welfare, Education, and Charity Aid). Social welfare services are offered to people through the establishment of a general hospital and a welfare foundation, which operates a geriatric hospital, elderly nursing facilities, and a youth training center. For education, one university and six high schools are in operation, and Charity Aid has been successfully performed both domestically and overseas by DIVA (Daejin International Volunteers Association). Under the Leader of Principle Park Wodang's leadership, Daesoon Jinrihoe has become one of the largest new religions in Korea.

The Holy Symbol of Dao

Daesoon means 'circle', and is related to the philosophical concepts of Mugeuk and Taegeuk. It symbolizes the principles of universal changes (or circulation). The three circles (black, yellow, and red) in the symbol signify that the whole universe consists of the Three Realms: Heaven, Earth, and Humanity. The Chinese character ‘大 (Great)’ appears four times within the circle. This implies the four basic principles of change in nature: Birth, Growth, Ripeness, and Storage, which develop into the four seasons of spring, summer, autumn, and winter and four directions of north, east, west, and south. Furthermore, it also implies benevolence, propriety, righteousness, and wisdom as found in the way of humanity.

Promotional Video