Temple Complexes

An Introduction to Temple Complexes

The temple complex is a location which enshrines the Supreme God (Sangje), Kang Jeungsan, and the other deities in 15 Divine positions (15 Shin-wi) at the Shrine of Gods known as ‘Yeongdae.’ Given that it is the enshrinement site of the great deities of Heaven and Earth, the temple complex is a holy ground wherein the greatest degree of devotional sincerity and respectfulness should be maintained. Ritualistic activities such as Devotional Offering Ceremonies (Chiseong), Temple Acclimation (Chambae) and Headquarters Offerings (Bonbuseong) are held here alongside a variety of other religious gatherings. Furthermore, the temple complex is the ground of cultivation wherein the Dao cohorts of Daesoon Jinrihoe practice Holy Works (Gongbu) and Prayer (Gido) as well as attending educational courses (Sugang and Yeonsu).

Every building in the temple complex expresses both the cosmology of Daesoon Jinrihoe and also the doctrinal philosophy of the Resolution of Grievances for Mutual Beneficence (Haewon-sangsaeng).

Throughout Korea, there are five temple complexes beginning with Yeoju Headquarters Temple Complex and also including Junggok Temple Complex, Jeju Training Temple, Pocheon Cultivation Temple Complex, and Geumgangsan Toseong Training Temple Complex. Junggok Temple Complex began its construction in Seoul underneath Mount Yongma in 1969 and was completed in 1971.

The majority of structures now known as Yeoju Headquarters Temple Complex were first built as the ‘Yeoju Cultivation Temple Complex’ which was erected in Yeoju, Gyeonggi Province back in 1986. Afterwards in 1990, Bonjeon Hall (Main Sanctuary Building) was built as an extension, and in 1993, the designation of headquarters was rescinded from Junggok Temple Complex and bestowed upon Yeoju Cultivation Temple Complex thereby resulting in its re-designated ‘Yeoju Headquarters Temple Complex.’ The headquarters temple complex has the following administrative offices: Planning Department, General Affairs Department, Department of Religious Research and Edification, and Department of Cultivation Affairs.

Jeju Training Temple was erected in 1989 in Nohyeong-dong. In 1992, Pocheon Cultivation Temple Complex was erected in Seondan-dong below Mount Wangbang in Pocheon, Gyeonggi Province. In 1996, Geumgangsan Toseong Training Temple Complex was built in Goseong, Gangwon Province and is located on the foothills of the first summit of Sinseon Peak of Mount Geumgansan.

The temple complexes of Daesoon Jinrihoe harmonize traditional Korean wooden building construction with modern architectural techniques. Each temple complex takes the Shrine of Gods (Yeongdae), as its center and other buildings stand around it. The borders of the premises are marked by gates such as ‘Ilgakmun Gate,’ ‘Pojeongmun Gate,’ and ‘Sungdomun Gate,’ and structures such as Jonggak Bell Pavilion and Noehwago Drum Pavilion are also arranged throughout the complex. The exterior of all the buildings in the temple complexes are harmoniously decorated in Dancheong (beautiful and majestic traditional Korean multi-colored paintwork featured on wooden buildings). Additionally, the buildings are characterized by the way in which they are decorated with a large variety of murals that depict key religious themes.

Yeoju Headquarters Temple Complex

This temple complex is located in Yeoju, Gyeonggi Province. Surrounded by low mountains, the temple complex has a warm and cozy ambience. With a mountain behind it and the commanding Namhan River in front of it, the geographical site of this temple is regarded as the best type of energy (gi) hub recognized in Feng Shui. This qualified it perfectly as a propitious site suitable for the construction of a temple complex.

The temple complex was built in November 1986, and the current Main Sanctuary Building (Bonjeon) and Daesoon Assembly Hall were added in 1990 due to a rapid increase in the number of Dao cohorts. As the number of followers kept growing, the headquarters was moved to this location back in 1993. It was from this moment that Daesoon Jinrihoe truly started to gain recognition from the general public as a representative Korean new religion. There are 40 buildings harmoniously arranged in their stately glory on a site of 165,000㎡. Most major rituals and events such as Holy Works (Gongbu), Educational Course (Sugang), Devotional Offering Ceremony (Chiseong), and Headquarters Offering (Bonbuseong) are performed at this location.

Geumgangsan Toseong Training Temple Complex

This temple complex is located on the foothills of Sinseon Peak (1,204m), the first of 12,000 peaks in the Geumgang Mountains. It has a commanding view of the East Sea to its front. This location reminds us of the following words spoken by Sangje: “In the future, the Heavenly Energy contained in the 12,000 peaks of Geumgang Mountains will bring forth the great 12,000 Dotong-gunja.” Meanwhile, it is also important to note that this temple complex enshrines a Maitreya Buddha Statue and the tomb of Dojeon. The temple complex and Maitreya Buddha Statue are open to the public for sightseeing.
This temple complex is the latest edifice and was built in 1995. It is located on a site measuring 115,700㎡ with 13 structures such as the Bonjeon, Pojeong Gate, Jonggak Pavilion, and the Rest Center. Jonggak Pavilion has the Daewon Bell inside, which is the same size as the one in Yeoju headquarters and both bells are tied for being the biggest in the nation. Noehwa Drum has a diameter of 2.5m and is located at Pojeong Gate. The temple complex has been running the Geumgangsan Yeonsu which is a six-day Training Course. It has been performed every week for more than 20 years since its inception in January of 1996 and continues at present.

Pocheon Cultivation Temple Complex

This temple complex is located on the foothills of Wangbang Mountain (773m) in Seondan-dong, Pocheon, Gyeonggi Province. This place is called ‘Seondan’, which means ‘altar’ in Korean. This was where ritual ceremonies used to take place to honor ancient deities. Therefore, given the meaning of 'Seondan', it is even more meaningful that the great deities of Heaven and Earth have been enshrined in this temple.
This temple complex was built in July 1992 with five buildings on a site measuring 33,000㎡. Daejin University is located next to this temple complex. Special Incantation Training was performed at this temple at one period in time.

Junggok Temple Complex

This temple complex is located on the foothills of Yongma Mountain which is connected to Bukhan Mountain and Surak Mountain, and it commands a view of the Han River toward its front. This is the first Daesoon Jinrihoe temple complex which was built in June 1969. It was at this temple complex that the fundamental system of Daesoon Jinrihoe’s religious body was established and new religious works began according to annual plans.

Jeju Training Temple

This temple is located in Nohyeong-dong, Jeju upon which the vital force of Halla Mountain is centered. The temple is a modern style building consisting of seven stories and a basement, all of which was completed in July 1989 on a site measuring 2,600㎡. Yeongdae and Daesoon Seongjeon (a hall with sacred paintings) are located on the 7th floor.

Branch Temples

Besides these five temple complexes, there are more than a hundred Fellowship Buildings and Fellowship Halls, and more than six hundred Propagation Centers connected to Local Branches. All these institutions strive to spread Sangje’s teachings all over the country.